Across the country local councils launched action and information campaigns.

Grant schemes, interest-free loans, advice sessions and online reporting of empties were just some of the highlights while others launched local media blitzes highlighting both the problems of empties (including both costs and lost income to owners) alongside the benefits of bringing homes into use for those in housing need.

Camden highlighted their grants scheme, with landlords offered £25,000 grants to bring empties into use and then allow council-nominated homeless tenants to find real homes there (moving families in housing need out hostel or temporary accommodation). Several councils launched loan schemes (including interest-free loans) for those bringing property into use, including Hertsmere.

Councils such as Newcastle and North Tyneside launched intensive information campaigns with video support online - for a look at the initiatives in more detail search #EmptyHomesWeek2019 or #EmptyHomesWeek on Twitter

Amongst over 100 councils who participated were:

Amber Valley,Barnsley, Barnet, Basildon, Bathnes, Bedford, Birmingham, Blaby, Blackburn with Darwen, Bolton, Braintree, Brent, Bournemouth Christchurch & Poole Council, Braintree, Breckland, Brentwood, Bristol, Bromsgrove, Calderdale, Cambridge, Camden, Cannock Chase, Carlisle, Charnwood, Chelmsford, Cherwell, Colchester, Copeland, Cornwall, Cotswolds, Coventry, Craven, Dacorum, Derby, Dorset (incorporating the former East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset and Weymouth & Portland authorities), Dudley, Durham, East Devon, East Staffordshire, Eastleigh, Epping Forest District Council, Fenland, Forest of Dean,  Gedling, Gloucester, Greater Manchester, Harborough, Harrogate, Hart District Council, Herefordshire, Hertsmere, Hinckley & Bosworth, London Borough of Hounslow, Kent County Council, Leicester, Lichfield, Lincoln, Malvern Hills, Mendip, Mid Devon, Mole Valley, London Borough of Newham, Newcastle under Lyme, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Kesteven, North Warwickshire, North East Lincolnshire, North West Leicestershire, North Tyneside, Nottingham City Council, Nuneaton & Bedworth, Oxford, Plymouth, Preston, Redbridge, Redditch, Rochford, Rotherham, Rugby, Rushcliffe, Sandwell, Selby, Sevenoaks, Shropshire, Solihull, South Holland, South Somerset, South Staffordshire, Stafford, Staffordshire Moorlands, South Hams, Southend on Sea, South Lakeland, South Northants, South West Devon, St. Helens, Stoke on Trent, Stratford upon Avon, Stroud, Tameside, Tamworth, Teignbridge, Telford & Wrekin, Torridge, Trafford, Uttlesford, Wakefield, Walsall, Waltham Forest, Warwick, West Devon, West Norfolk, West Oxfordshire, West Suffolk, Wolverhampton, Worcester, Wychavon, Wyre Forest...

For further information contact [email protected]

For the latest updates follow @emptyhomes on Twitter at